Results 2003: I was very nervous before the post came… I

HeadLine: RESULTS 2003: I was very nervous before the post came… I
was up for hours

The Mirror, 13/08/2003, p16 & 17
by SHAUN MILNE

ON any other day they’d still be fast asleep.
But it was all so very different yesterday, the Glorious 12th.
Scotland’s army of 140,000 plus school pupils who had sat their exams just weeks ago were up and about, offering to make mum and dad a cup of tea.
Their steely silence betrayed the fact they were more terrified that
morning than your average grouse, which really had much more cause.
As the clock ticked away, the youth of today sprang up and down from in
front of the TV to peer out the window and check behind the door.
Just in case they’d missed them.
The posties.
For it was only they who could end their suffering.
As it was, the majority were able to celebrate.
For others, it would be time to turn up the volume as they desperately
hid away from their pals. The English Higher in particular dealt a body
blow to most Scots pupils. Just over half sat it but only 59 per cent
passed, compared with a healthy 64.7 per cent the previous year.
One of the lucky ones was schoolgirl Jennifer Roney, 16, who jumped for
joy as she opened the envelope containing five grade A passes, putting
her on her way to achieving her dream of becoming a lawyer.
Jennifer, who attends St Ninians High School in East Renfrewshire,
said: “I am so relieved just to have passed everything but to get five
As is just brilliant.
“I was so nervous before the postman arrived. I was up for hours. I
couldn’t sleep and I have just been getting more and more nervous.”
The teenager achieved top marks in Maths, French, History and Physics.
She even walked away with an A grade in Higher English.
She said: “English was the first exam so I was more nervous than I was
with the others. I thought I had mucked it up. And when I read about
all the problems with the English pass marks, I just became more
convinced that I hadn’t done too well.”
Former Aberdeen Grammar School pupil, seventeen-year-old Andrew
Leighton was one of those left disappointed at his English grade.
He was pleased with a B pass in Geography, C pass in Physics and a B in
Physical Education. However an Intermediate Two A pass in English was
less than he had hoped for.
Andrew said: “I am disappointed because I thought I would pass it.
“Aberdeen University wanted me to get three Highers at B to do civil
engineering, so I’ll have to see what they say. Hopefully it will be
okay.”
But others were as delirious as Cameron Stewart, 15, from East
Kilbride. The Claremont High pupil, who sat eight Standard Grades, had
hoped for good enough results to study for three highers this year.
He was over the moon with his four credit, three general and one
foundation pass.
He said: “I had butterflies. But when I worked my way down the results
I was really pleased.”
The white envelope also brought tears of joy for Edward Snedden. The
18-year-old, headboy at Harlaw Academy in Aberdeen, was hoping for
straight As in his Scottish Advanced Higher Exams to secure him a place
at Cambridge University.
His results revealed he had scored the top grade needed in Maths,
Chemistry, Physics and Music.
He said: “It’s fantastic news, it was just what I had hoped for. The
last couple of months have been tense but it has all been made
worthwhile.”
Royal Mail pulled out all the stops yesterday when a train drew into
Britain’s highest railway station.
Lindsay Vallance, 17, of Corrour, Fort William, normally only receives
mail three times a week because her home is so remote.
But, yesterday, the former Inverurie Academy pupil turned up to meet
the 8.22am train to get her results on the same day as the rest of
Scotland.
Lindsay, who has secured a place studying Children’s Nursing at
Aberdeen’s Robert Gordon University, was not disappointed with an A in
Advanced Higher Music, a B in Higher Human Biology and a C in Higher
Information Systems.
She said: “I’m pretty pleased. I am glad I got them today. I would have
hated waiting an extra day or two.”
Royal Mail Delivery boss, Rab Denholm, said: “This is just one example
of where our postmen and women go that little bit further.”
And, as the curtain finally came down on a day of joy and tears, the
posties could go home knowing that today, as they start their rounds
again, they’ll be feared no longer.

**

Categories: Daily Mirror articles

Leave a comment?

